A Dream Pillow

by Liz

Everyone dreams, but we don’t always remember what we dream. This is typically the case for me as most days I wake up having no memory of any kind of a dream. I’ve recently read some very beautiful blog posts about dreams which perfectly illustrate the insight, inspiration and guidance that can be gathered from dreams, which highlighted the fact that I very rarely remember my own dreams and inspired me to take some magical action to aid the situation.

My dear friend Ben and I decided that, before we head back to our respective colleges tomorrow, we would make dream pillows or sachets to inspire our dreams and help our memory of those dreams. Along with the dream pillows, we also decided to find and bless dream journals in which to keep an account of our dreams for later reflection.

As far as the construction and components of the sachets, we relied mostly on our prior knowledge and what felt right at the time when we were out shopping.  I’m absolutely thrilled with the fabric selection, and some cotton batting on the inside makes it fluffy and keeps the large quantities of lavender and rosemary from poking out. We used a really divine smelling oil blend my sister gave me to bless the bags, which was also on the oil diffuser while we worked. We brewed the dream tea and drank it as we constructed and sewed and in my journal I noted the components of the sachet and the recipe for the tea.

 

It was really a lovely time, and by the time we finished assembling the bags and working the spell all we wanted to do was go to our respective homes and curl up in bed, which is exactly what I did – but only after putting together a small dream altar, which will be making the journey back to Kent with me, along with my wonderful dream pillow and journal for a dream-filled and happy semester.

Oh! And in case you were curious, here is the recipe for the dream tea. It’s very easy and quite delicious; you probably already have everything you need to make it:

Dream Tea:

  • 1 tsp dried chamomile
  • 1/2 tsp dried peppermint
  • a pinch of powdered ginger
  • a pinch of powdered nutmeg

To make, just brew it like an ordinary cup of tea, or get fancy and double it and make it in a tea pot. You don’t really have to worry about exactitude in measuring dried herbs, just be aware of proportions and you’re good to go.

Happy dreaming!

