The Real Witch Project (2005)

by Liz

Before I launch into this post, I feel the need to say a couple of things about my blogging habits… First, I think you should all know that I have about 7 half-finished drafts waiting to be completed and posted, yet this post is simply flowing out of my fingers as I type. Second, I’ve been doing anything lately but blogging,  a tragedy as I really do love it. Finally, I promise that I will get back to a four day blogging schedule, even if it takes some effort to do.

All that being said, I’d like to introduce a new and ongoing series of posts about one of my passions/obsessions: the portrayal of witchcraft, magic, paganism, etc. in the media. I’m dubbing it Magical Media and it’ll mostly talk about film and TV, but perhaps an occasional radio spot if I hear of something. To kick this off I’d like to talk a little about something I recently stumbled across in my internet journeys: The Real Witch Project.

The Real Witch Project was produced by the TV branch of Cicada Productions and aired on Channel 5 in the UK in 2005. The project follows six ‘ordinary’ women from a variety of religious backgrounds who form a coven with the goal of living as witches for one lunar cycle.

Description from Cicada Productions Website:

Witchcraft is steadily infiltrating British society. With high street stores selling spell books and potions,are we  becoming a nation of witches? If so, will our lives be any better for it?

The Real Witch Project is a genuine  experiment into the powers of witchcraft and magic, following a group of  ordinary women as they form a coven and live as witches for one lunar cycle.

The program itself is about 40 minutes long and is fairly interesting. There are 3 things I really enjoyed about this show: First, Ronald Hutton gives a brief introduction stating why he thinks witchcraft is one of the best expressions of modernity. Second, I thought it was good to portray what the women who participated actually thought about witchcraft before, after and during the project. And finally, there’s this really hilarious part of the program where one of the women talks to Tupac via a ouija board.

Overall, I don’t necessarily agree with all of the teachings or practices highlighted in the video, but following the progression of the students was really the best part. You can watch all of this documentary on YouTube, I’ve embedded the videos below, enjoy!

Links:

I’d love to get your comments and feedback about The Real Witch Project, feel free to post them below!

