More Botanical Crafting and Park Adventures in Kent

by Liz

Well, yesterday I had grand plans of botanical crafting and some dark moon graveyard work… I got around to the botanical crafting (because really, all I needed was a kitchen, and my roommate was gone) but unfortunately some rainy weather kept me out of the graveyard yesterday, and I had a friend over.

All in all I managed to strain my previous batch of Four Thieves Vinegar, and craft a larger (protective) batch to share with Benjamin. He’s quite busy with finals, which is why you haven’t had any recent posts from him.  I also brewed up a batch of nourishing nettle infusion with some dried nettle I picked up at the co-op. Did I mention that it was ridiculously expensive? Seriously, $22.09/lb for dried nettle is just silly… but at least I feel like I’m supporting a local business, so I suppose it’s okay. In the future though, I’ll remember to only buy things I can’t wild-harvest in the city of Kent. Regardless, here’s a photo of the 3 completed brews:

Today I planned again to go to the graveyard, and I set out early in the afternoon to do so; the weather was better and the sun even came out now and again. When I got to the graveyard there were people there, much to my dismay… It seemed like they were attempting to beautify bits of it or something (which really wasn’t necessary, as you’ll see when I finally get around to photographing it) and rather than risk being asked questions, I set off onto the nearby hiking trail.

Over the mile or two that I walked I took well over 150 photos of plants before my camera batteries died and discovered patches of several easily-identified and usable herbs, most notably:  a giant patch of stinging nettle and several moderate-sized patches of coltsfoot.

There’s my giant patch of nettle. And yes, I’ve sort of claimed it as mine – but only because I had this immediate affinity for the plant. There’s actually this perfect little place on the top edge of the nettle patch which would be absolutely perfect for sitting and communing with the nettle.

This is one of my favorite pictures of the coltsfoot I came across. I don’t see it around much, but it is a really beautiful plant in all stages of flowering. One of the interesting things about coltsfoot is that it flowers before it develops leaves, so there are a bunch of budding a flowering stalks without leaves, and if you see coltsfoot leaves late in the summer then it is definitely past flowering. Here are some more pictures of the coltsfoot (did I go overboard taking pictures of it? perhaps…) :

The pictures loose a little bit when they get shrunken down, but I definitely suggest that you click on them as I’m quite proud of how gorgeously crisp they are. I also saw a bunch of other plants that I photographed, but I haven’t identified all of them yet – that will happen after I finish out the week (yes, I’ve been putting off schoolwork – what else is new?). Oh, and here are some general pictures of my walk, and the very swollen Cuyahoga River:

This concludes my very picture-heavy post which took me ages and ages to write… but that’s all on me. Enjoy the pictures!

